logo Ministry of Foreign Affairs
People's Democratic Republic of Algeria
Embassy of Algeria in Brussels

European Parliament

European Parliament

Algeria-European Parliament relations:

Relations between Algeria and the European Parliament are evolving within the overall framework of political dialogue between Algeria and the European Union. In recent years, they have experienced renewed mutual interest thanks in particular to the resumption, on a regular basis, of interparliamentary meetings and exchanges of visits between Algerian Ministers and officials and delegations from the European Parliament.

This relationship saw a major development in 2010 with the creation, within the European Parliament, of the Group of "Friends of Algeria", made up of several MEPs, some of whom assume high responsibilities within their political families.


Participation of Algeria in the Parliamentary Assembly of the UfM:

In the wake of the launch of the Union for the Mediterranean in July 2008, it appeared necessary to provide this new cooperation framework with an Assembly of parliamentarians bringing together, on an equal basis, the representatives of the national parliaments of the States on both shores of the Mediterranean, members of the UfM.

This is how the "Euro-Mediterranean Parliamentary Assembly (EMPA)", created at the Naples Ministerial Conference on 2 and 3 December 2003, was renamed "Parliamentary Assembly of the Union for the Mediterranean (PA- UfM)".

Algeria is represented in this Assembly, currently chaired by Portugal for a one-year term, by thirteen (13) parliamentarians representing the Council of Nation and the National People's Assembly. They work within five standing committees of this Assembly, namely:

The Political, Security and Human Rights Commission;
The Commission for Economic and Financial Affairs, Social Affairs and Education;
The Commission for the promotion of the quality of life, exchanges between civil societies and culture;
Energy, Environment and Water Commission;
The Women's Rights Commission.

Presence of Algeria at the Euro-Mediterranean Regional and Local Assembly (ARLEM):

The Barcelona Declaration, adopted at the launch of the Euro-Mediterranean process in 1995, stressed the need to fully involve local and regional actors in Euro-Mediterranean governance and encourages them to "meet each year to review the common challenges they have to face and to compare their experiences".

Ten years later, on the occasion of the summit of Euromed Heads of State and Government (Barcelona+10), the local authorities of the Euro-Mediterranean region decided to create a permanent forum of local and regional authorities.

The Euro-Mediterranean Regional and Local Assembly (ARLEM), created on January 21, 2010 in Barcelona (Spain), aims to bring a local and regional dimension to the Union for the Mediterranean (UfM). It is made up, on an equal basis, of 42 representatives from European countries and 42 representatives from the southern shore of the Mediterranean.

All rights reserved - Ministry of Foreign Affairs and National Community Abraod - 2023